Cooperative

Cooperative

Established by students

WOKO – from WOhnbauKOmmission (housing commission) – was established in 1956 by students from the two Zurich universities. In 1972, this became today’s cooperative: the Student Housing Cooperative Zurich, WOKO. Its members are legal entities, particularly organisations of students (VSETH and VSUZH), of doctoral students (AVETH) and of former students (ETH Alumni, Zürcher Universitätsverein ZUNIV).
To mark WOKO’s 50-year anniversary, its history from the beginnings to the present day was compiled and published in 2006.

Administration, maintenance and operation

WOKO administers both property belonging to the Stiftung für Studentisches Wohnen (Student Housing Foundation) Zurich, property owned by the ETH Zurich and property owned by the University of Zurich. WOKO also rents entire properties owned by the city and canton of Zurich and by private individuals and lets these out to students. WOKO owns only one property itself. In the case of all properties, WOKO lets the rooms, collects the rent, organises caretaking, operation and maintenance and is also responsible for bookkeeping and financial control. It also develops and supports new student housing projects.

Financially self-sustaining, non-profit organisation

WOKO receives neither subsidies for the operation of its student houses nor assistance to cover deficits. As a private organisation, WOKO is itself responsible for achieving balanced financial results. It is only possible to keep the rent charged for rooms low thanks to the fair terms given by property owners, to efficient and inexpensive administration and if student tenants pay their rents on time and behave in a manner that does not increase costs.

Philosophy

Rooms for students

WOKO lets about 3'500 rooms in Zurich and Winterthur in student houses and individual apartments. Accommodation is available exclusively to students enrolled at the ETH, University of Zurich, ZHAW and other institutes of higher education in Zurich. WOKO does not act as an agent for apartments and rooms, but lets accommodation which it administers itself and for whose maintenance it is in most cases responsible. Please see Cooperative for further details.

Everything included

As a rule, WOKO lets individual rooms rather than apartments. Students live in groups of 2 to 15 tenants with joint use of kitchen and bathroom. They arrange autonomously amongst themselves how they structure living together. Most rooms are let furnished. In addition to the cost of room, furniture and furnishings, the rent paid normally includes all additional costs such as the students’ individual electricity consumption as well as cleaning agents. Depending on the property in question, tenants are also entitled to make use of music rooms, house bars, workshops, etc. that are used jointly.

Executive Bodies

Members of the cooperative
  • Verband der Studierenden an der ETH Zürich (VSETH): www.vseth.ethz.ch
  • Verband der Studierenden der Universität Zürich (VSUZH): www.vsuzh.ch/en
  • Association of Scientific Staff at the ETH Zurich: www.aveth.ethz.ch
  • Association of Non-Professorial Academic Staff at the University of Zurich: www.vauz.uzh.ch
  • Gesellschaft ehemaliger Studierender ETH Zürich/ETH Alumni: www.alumni.ethz.ch
  • UZH Alumni: www.alumni.uzh.ch
  • Studierende Kantonale Maturitätsschule für Erwachsene, Zürich (KME): www.kme.ch
  • Studierendenversammlung der ZHdK (VERSO): verso-verso.ch
  • Wohnstiftung für Studierende (WOST), Basel
  • Versammlung der Studierenden der Pädagogischen Hochschule Zürich (VSPHZH)https://stud.phzh.ch
  • Alias Studierende der Zürcher Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften (Alias ZHAW): www.alias-zhaw.ch
Board
  • Immanuel Stocker: President
  • Cornelia Estermann: Vice president
  • Marianne Dutli Derron
  • Alexandros Psomas
  • Lukas Reichart
  • Andreas Wirz
  • Michael Wüthrich
  • Claudio Durisch: Delegate City of Zurich
Management committee
  • Karin Schulte: General manager
  • Thomas Gnekow: Manager of Finance
  • Markus Helbling: Manager of Property
  • Regula Jenny: Manager of Housing

Genossenschaft

Genossenschaft

Von Studierenden gegründet

Die WOKO - das war die Abkürzung für die Wohnbaukommission – wurde 1956 von den Studentenschaften beider Zürcher Hochschulen gegründet. Daraus entstand 1972 die heutige Studentische Wohngenossenschaft Zürich, WOKO. Ihre Mitglieder sind juristische Personen, insbesondere Organisationen von Studierenden (VSETH und VSUZH), von Doktoranden (AVETH) und ehemaliger Studierenden (ETH Alumni, Zürcher Universitätsverein ZUNIV).
Zum 50-jährigen Jubiläum 2006 wurde die Geschichte der WOKO von der Gründung bis zur Gegenwart aufgearbeitet und publiziert.

Verwaltung, Unterhalt und Betrieb

Die WOKO verwaltet sowohl die Häuser der Stiftung für Studentisches Wohnen Zürich als auch der ETH Zürich und der Universität Zürich. Zudem mietet sie ganze Liegenschaften von Stadt und Kanton Zürich sowie Privaten zur Weitervermietung an Studierende. Eine Liegenschaft befindet sich direkt im Besitz der WOKO. Bei allen Liegenschaften vermietet die WOKO die Zimmer, zieht den Mietzins ein, besorgt die Hauswartung, den Betrieb und den Unterhalt, und ist für die Buchhaltung und die finanzielle Kontrolle verantwortlich. Weiter entwickelt und unterstützt sie Projekte für neuen studentischen Wohnraum.

Finanziell selbst tragend, nicht subventioniert

Die WOKO erhält weder Subventionen für den Betrieb der Studierendenhäuser noch eine Defizitdeckung. Als privatrechtliche Organisation ist sie selbst verantwortlich für ein ausgeglichenes finanzielles Ergebnis. Ihre günstigen Zimmerpreise beruhen auf fairen Konditionen der Hauseigentümer, effizienter und kostengünstiger Verwaltung, sowie auf der Zahlungsmoral und dem Kostenverhalten der studentischen Mieterschaft.

Philosophie

Zimmer für Studierende

Die WOKO vermietet in Zürich und Winterthur über 3'500 Zimmer, in Studierendenhäusern und einzelnen Wohnungen, jeweils verteilt über die ganze Stadt. Ihr Angebot richtet sich ausschliesslich an Studierende der ETH Zürich, der Universität Zürich, der ZHAW und weiterer Hochschulen im Kanton Zürich. Die WOKO vermittelt keine Wohnungen oder Zimmer, sondern vermietet Wohnraum, den sie selbst verwaltet und für dessen Unterhalt sie in den meisten Fällen verantwortlich ist.
Weitere Infos zur WOKO siehe Genossenschaft.

Alles inklusive

Bei der WOKO werden in der Regel einzelne Zimmer gemietet, keine Wohnungen. Die Studierenden leben in Wohngruppen von 2 bis 15 Bewohnern, welche Küche und Bad gemeinsam benützen und ihr Zusammenleben selbständig gestalten. Die Zimmer werden mehrheitlich möbliert angeboten. Nebst der Miete für Zimmer, Möblierung und Ausstattung sind normalerweise auch sämtliche Nebenkosten inbegriffen sowie die Kosten für persönlichen Stromverbrauch und Putzmittel. Weiter stehen den Bewohnern – je nach Liegenschaft – zusätzliche, gemeinsam genutzte Musikräume, Hausbars, Werkstätten, etc. zur Verfügung.

Organe

Genossenschafter
  • Verband der Studierenden an der ETH Zürich (VSETH): www.vseth.ethz.ch
  • Verband der Studierenden der Universität Zürich (VSUZH): vsuzh.ch
  • Akademische Vereinigung des Mittelbaus an der ETH Zürich: www.aveth.ethz.ch
  • Vereinigung akademischer Mittelbau der Universität Zürich (VAUZ): www.vauz.uzh.ch
  • Gesellschaft ehemaliger Studierender ETH Zürich/ETH Alumni: www.alumni.ethz.ch
  • UZH Alumni: www.alumni.uzh.ch
  • Studierende Kantonale Maturitätsschule für Erwachsene, Zürich (KME): www.kme.ch
  • Studierendenversammlung der ZHdK (VERSO): verso-verso.org
  • Wohnstiftung für Studierende (WOST), Basel
  • Versammlung der Studierenden der Pädagogischen Hochschule Zürich (VSPHZH): stud.phzh.ch
  • Alias Studierende der Zürcher Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften (Alias ZHAW): www.alias-zhaw.ch
Vorstand
  • Immanuel Stocker: Präsident
  • Cornelia Estermann: Vizepräsidentin
  • Marianne Dutli Derron
  • Alexandros Psomas
  • Lukas Reichart
  • Andreas Wirz
  • Michael Wüthrich
  • Claudio Durisch: Delegierter der Stadt Zürich
Geschäftsleitung
  • Karin Schulte: Geschäftsführerin
  • Thomas Gnekow: Leiter Finanzen
  • Markus Helbing: Leiter Liegenschaften
  • Regula Jenny: Leiterin Wohnen